VACPN - About Us
Virginia Association of Community Psychiatric Nurses - VACPN
About Us
 
The Virginia Association of Community Psychiatric Nurses (VACPN) was founded in 1987 by Irma Mahone R.N., M.S.N., Ph.D., and Jeanne Fox, Ph.D. They had a concept: forming a network of psychiatric nurses in Virginia sharing ideas, expertise, information, and experiences.
 
These early founders of VACPN ignited the energies of the community psychiatric nurses and encouraged a dynamic movement of nurses. VACPN is a group of community psychiatric nurses of all educational preparations that is focused on the uplifting of these nurses across the state of Virginia.
 
VACPN has representatives in each of five regions across the state. These representatives hold regular meetings in your region. There, you are able to express your ideas, learn from your peers, and address issues. VACPN addresses your issues through forums, training, and seminars that are sponsored by this organization.
 
VACPN hosts an annual spring seminar and fall conference. Nurses from all over the state gather together to rejuvenate themselves professionally, educationally, personally, and most importantly, collectively.
 
VACPN is a group of nurses who are dedicated to the delivery of exemplary mental health services to the state of Virginia. We achieve this through our affiliation with an organization that serves to enhance the roles of community psychiatric nurses - this organization is VACPN.
 
The purpose of VACPN is to define and enhance the role of the nurse in mental health, intellectual disabilities, and substance abuse; to exchange ideas, models, and experiences; to facilitate networking and mutual support; to promote the improvement of nursing practice; and to promote professional growth.
 
 
VACPN OFFICERS
 
Jennifer Phelps, BS, LPN, QMHP-A
Co-President
Jennifer.Phelps@horizonbh.org
Horizon Behavioral Health 
Term: 8/2019 to 8/2021
 

Lisa Babilon, RN, BSN
Co-President
lmbabilon@hanovercounty.gov
Hanover CSB
Term: 8/2019 to 8/2021


Sharon Daniels, RN 
Vice President
sharon.daniels@comcast.net
Valley CSB - Retired
Term: 8/2018 to 8/2020
 

Lindsay Moffett, RN, BSN
Secretary
lmoffett@vcsb.org
Valley CSB
Term: 8/2019 to 8/2021
 

Sonya Mohr, RN 
Treasurer 
Sonya.Mohr@horizonbh.org
Horizon Behavioral Health
Term: 8/2018 to 8/2020
 

Nina Beaman, RN, Ed.D.
CNE Coordinator
nina.beaman@aspen.edu 
Aspen University 
Term: 8/2018 to 8/2020
 

Kemelee Puryear, RN
Regional Rep Coordinator
kmpuryear@hanovercounty.gov
Hanover Community Services
Term 8/2019 to 8/2021


Dana Moore, RN BSN
Social Media Specialist
dmoore@d19csb.com
District 19 CSB
Term 8/2019 to 8/2021     


 
REGIONAL REPS

Region I

Regional Rep
Jennifer Rosenberg, RN, BSN
Rappahannock Area CSB
jrosenberg@rappahannockareacsb.org

Alternate
Judy King
Valley CSB
Kingjudith19@gmail.com

_____________________

Region II

Regional Rep 
Daryl Vasquez, RN
Fairfax-Falls Church CSB
dvasque2@aol.com

Alternate
Cheryl Zellmer, RN
Fairfax County
czellm@verizon.net

_____________________

Region III

TBD

_____________________

Region IV

Regional Rep
Mable Williams, RN, BSN
Richmond Behavioral Health Authority
williamsm@rbha.org

Alternate
Monica Streat, RN
Chesterfield Mental Health Support Services
Streatm@chesterfield.gov

_____________________

Region V

Regional Rep
Allison O'Brien, RN-BC
Hampton Newport News CSB
aobrien@hnncsb.org

Alternate
Marsha Hiers, RN
City of Virginia Beach Human Services
mshiers@vbgov.com